Faculty

All extensions are at 901-334-5800

Daniel J. Earheart-Brown
President, Professor of Theology
B.A., Bethel College; M.Div., Memphis Theological Seminary; Ph.D., Union Theological Seminary in Virginia
jebrown@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5809

Carmichael D. Crutchfield
Assistant Professor of Christian Education and Youth Ministry
B.S., University of Tennessee-Martin; M.S., University of Arkansas; M.Div., Memphis Theological Seminary; D. Min., Memphis Theological Seminary; Ph.D., Garrett Evangelical Theological Seminary
ccrutchfield@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5842

Christopher Davis
Assistant Professor of Preaching and Pastoral Ministry
B.A., University of Arkansas; B.A., Arkansas Baptist College; M.A.R., Memphis Theological Seminary; D.Min., United Theological Seminary
cdavis@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5831

Peter Gathje
Associate Dean for Curriculum and Instruction, Professor of Christian Ethics
B.A., St. John’s University; M.T.S., Candler School of Theology at Emory University; Ph.D., Emory University
pgathje@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5832

Mary Lin Hudson
Professor of Homiletics and Liturgics
B.A., Bethel College; M.Div., Memphis Theological Seminary; Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
mlhudson@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5851

Andre Johnson
Dr. James L. Netters Associate Professor of Rhetoric & Religion and African American Studies
B.S., University of Tennessee-Martin; M.Div., Memphis Theological Seminary; Ph.D., University of Memphis
ajohnson@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5817

John T. Kilzer
Director of Theology & Arts
B.A., Memphis State University; M.A., Memphis State University; M.Div., Memphis Theological Seminary; Ph.D., Middlesex University in London, England
jkilzer@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5847

David P. King
Assistant Professor of Church History
B.A., Samford University; M.Div., Duke University Divinity School; Ph.D., Emory University
dking@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5829

Matt T. Mathews
Professor of Theology
B.A., Calvin College; M.Div., Candler School of Theology; Ph.D., Emory University
mmathews@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5848

Mitzi L. Minor
Mary Magdalene Professor of New Testament
B.A., Auburn University; M.Div., Southern Baptist Theological Seminary; Ph.D., Southern Baptist Theological Seminary
mminor@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5849

V. Steven Parrish
Professor of Old Testament
B.A., Bethel College; M.Div., Memphis Theological Seminary; M.A., Vanderbilt University; Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
sparrish@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5850

G. Lee Ramsey, Jr.
Marlon and Sheila Foster Professor of Pastoral Theology and Homiletics
B.A., Emory University; M.Div., Candler School of Theology; Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
lramsey@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5844

Andrew C. Thompson
Assistant Professor of Historical Theology & Wesleyan Studies
B.A., Hendrix College; M.Div., Vanderbilt University Divinity School; Th.D., Duke University Divinity School
athompson@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5852

William M. Vaughan III
Director of the Formation for Ministry Program
M.Div., Emory University
bvaughan@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5864

Robert S. Wood
Vice President of Academic Affairs, Dean of the Seminary, Director of the Doctor of Ministry Program, Clara Scott Associate Professor of Ministry
B.A., Bethel College; D.D., Bethel College; M.Div., Memphis Theological Seminary; D.Min., Vanderbilt University
rswood@memphisseminary.edu
ext. 5830

FACULTY EMERITI

Clinton O. Buck
Professor Emeritus of Educational Ministry
B.A., Bethel College; B.D., Cumberland Presbyterian Theological Seminary; M.A., Northwestern University; Ph.D., Union Theological Seminary in Virginia

Paul R. Dekar
Professor Emeritus of Evangelism and Mission
B.A., University of California, Berkeley; M.Div., Colgate Rochester Divinity School; M.A., University of Chicago; Ph.D., University of Chicago

J. David Hester
Professor Emeritus of Evangelism, President
B.A., Bethel College; B.D., Cumberland Presbyterian Theological Seminary; M.A., University of Memphis; D.Min., Fuller Theological Seminary

Waldo E. Knickerbocker
Professor Emeritus of Church History
B.A., Washington and Lee University; B.D., Emory University; Ph.D., Emory University

Virgil H. Todd
Professor Emeritus of Old Testament
B.A., Bethel College; B.D., Cumberland Presbyterian Theological Seminary; M.A., Scarritt College; Ph.D., Vanderbilt University